Ministry Fertilizer


Be called after my name…
December 12, 2007, 9:38 am
Filed under: Principles of Youth Ministry

This morning as I was reading my Bible one verse struck me right in the heart. 

2Sa 12:28 Now therefore gather the rest of the people together, and encamp against the city, and take it: lest I take the city, and it be called after my name.

This is a what Joab told David, through a messenger, after he took the city of Rabbah. While David was in the palace committing the sins with Bathsheba, not fighting in the battle, Joab was conquering cities. Joab was aware of the sin of David. It was to Joab that a messenger was sent to give the message to have Uriah killed.

How in the world did Joab say unto David (paraphrase) “David you and your boys better come down here and finish off the little bit of fighting we have left so everyone will give you credit for taking this city. If you don’t come they will think I did it, which consequently I did, and they will want to name it after me”

This struck me so hard because I am an inadequate second man. I do not follow a lazy, sinful man as it appears David was at the time. I have the great opportunity to work with a pastor who is also my mentor. He often will tell us to tell him when we disagree with him, he always ask for our opinion, he gives us time and challenges us to develop the gifts God has given us, he dreams of bigger things from our lives then we even dare to think of. However, I still do not find myself having the attitude of Joab.

If I have an activity, idea, or even execute an idea the pastor had I want complete recognition. I believe many of us our have this problem. So much of what I do in the youth ministry is directly connected to what he has taught me from the Word of God and almost everything I do that is right in ministry is from his guidance. I want to become more respectful of this fact.

My brother in law, who is also the Administrative Pastor of the my church, is a great second man. He writes a blog you can find at www.the2ndman.com. It has been a great help to me. Sometimes you will see me mentioned in the blog, not normally by name but the character in the story who is causing trouble by being a non- Joab like second man.

j

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

