Ministry Fertilizer


Spiritual Appetite
January 29, 2008, 3:37 pm
Filed under: Principles of Youth Ministry

 Last week as I read over Luke 14 I thought of a conversation my wife and I have quite often. Around 7 pm she will ask me if I am ready for supper. If I answer “yes” she will say what would you like. However, if I say “no” she will come to wherever I am ask and with a grin on her face will say “where did you go to lunch today”. She works as a teacher so doesn’t have the opportunity to go out to eat as often as I do. The lesson of my rambling story is that she knows if I do not need her food to satisfy me it has to be because my appetite has been filled by something else. 

When it comes time for me to spend time with God in His Word and I do not make time for Him — the problem is not a scheduling or reading problem.. but a appetite problem. “If we don’t feel strong desires for the manifestation of the glory of God, it is not because we have drunk deeply and are satisfied. It is because we have nibbled so long at the table of the world. Our soul is stuffed with small things and there is no room for the great.” (John Piper, A Hunger for God). 

Text: Luke 14:14-18Mat 5:6 Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

I. WHO gave the invitation?        

He is a man you should not ignore. Worship        

Many of us have accepted his first invitation (Salvation)        

The invitation was to a man and not just to a meal (Ezekiel 45:15,16)Ezekiel 45:15  And one lamb out of the flock, out of two hundred, out of the fat pastures of Israel; for a meat offering, and for a burnt offering, and for peace offerings, to make reconciliation for them, saith the Lord GOD.        

In this man we will find all we need. (Colossians 2:3)Colossians 2:3  In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge. 

II. WHAT was prepared for them? (v.16)         What is waiting for us to enjoy. Praise         All the “hidden riches” (Isaiah 45:3)Isaiah 45:3  And I will give thee the treasures of darkness, and hidden riches of secret places, that thou mayest know that I, the LORD, which call thee by thy name, am the God of Israel.

         Exactly what you need is waiting for you.

 III. What time was it? (v.17)        

It was time to eat. Why did they have other plans?         If you do not make a plan to eat you will just eat whatever is convenient.         We do not live in environment that should cause hunger, not bring satisfaction.         Hunger pains (Psalm 42:1, 2a)Psalms 42:1  To the chief Musician, Maschil, for the sons of Korah.> As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. (42:2)  My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God? 

IV. Why they did not come? (v. 18,19)

Three excuses “the care of this world” (v. 18) “the deceitfulness of riches” (v. 19), “the pleasures of this life” (v. 20)Ill. “I do not have any peanut butter!”        

We are to easily satisfied with the table of the world. (Jer. 2:13).

Jeremiah 2:13  For my people have committed two evils; they have forsaken me the fountain of living waters, and hewed them out cisterns, broken cisterns, that can hold no water.        

 LOSS of APPETITE

Are you hungry for time with God?Has the world satisfied you appetite?What is replacing your time with God?Would you be able to pray the prayer of Isaiah 26:8, 9?Isa 26:8  Yea, in the way of thy judgments, O LORD, have we waited for thee; the desire of our soul is to thy name, and to the remembrance of thee. Isa 26:9  With my soul have I desired thee in the night; yea, with my spirit within me will I seek thee early: for when thy judgments are in the earth, the inhabitants of the world will learn righteousness.  

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

